The community I’ve been waiting for

by balanceofbliss

While much of life is certainly looking up now, the past four years have not been easy to say the least.  As many of you know, I left my career in New York (one of which I worked my ass off for) to start a new path in dietetics.  I honestly thought it was going to be much easier to transition.  I believed money wouldn’t be an issue, opportunities would knock down my door, and I’d live happily ever after in the country with some sheep and a dog.  Needless to say, things didn’t go quite according to plan.

One important key to Balance of Bliss is, of course, finding balance.  Sadly, though, you cannot find balance without embracing yourself and your surroundings – it just doesn’t work.  Part of embracing yourself is to nurture and care for yourself.  I am the type of person who needs to work out; I need to eat my greens and vegetables; I need to have an organized and, somewhat clean, house; I need to be social; I need to have alone time; I need to be creative… and the “needs” go on.  Once I understand my needs, I can better balance and prioritize my time to fit them in where I can.

I didn’t come to this on my own.  Since I moved back I’ve met some pretty outstanding mentors and inspirational friends.

The women I’m about to mention (there are many more, but these three are really standing out right now) have inspired me to care for myself – physically, professionally, and emotionally. These are strong, bright and entrepreneurial women who are able to balance career, family, and themselves with “ease”.  They make being graceful look sexy and natural beauty is effortless.  I’m blessed to have them in my life and if you are in the Lambertville/New Hope area, you should absolutely check out their websites.

Jennifer Artur, Body Flow Movement.  I’m a runner and I love yoga – but I am obsessed with pilates because of Jennifer’s no bullshit approach.  I equate pilates to trail running because you cannot for one second take your mind off of her instructions and what your body is doing.  You must be mindful – you must leave the baggage of the day or the to-do list for your evening at the door.

Judy Detrano, Wednesday’s For Women. I became acquainted with Judy through a mutual friend.  Attending Wednesday’s for Women a year ago was my first introduction into professional and social networking in Lambertville.  Set at Hamilton’s Grill Room on a Wednesday of every month, you dine on great food and deep conversation.  Judy is one of the most welcoming and warm people I’ve ever met and her vision for a community of supportive and smart ladies is just awesome.  She’s also from Brooklyn so I feel like I have a slice of NYC whenever I’m around her.

Sara Scully, Acme Screening Room.  I have known Sara since I was 21 years old.  I met her when I was in college and working at a gallery in NYC’s financial district called Tribute (no longer there, but a really great place).  We connected quickly over our Bucks/Hunterdon County roots and our love for film. She gave me my first few jobs in production and was always a voice of reason, friend, and production guru.  She moved back to the area a few years before I made the transition.  Sara, however, opened up the only independent movie theater within a 100-mile radius where she brings in docs, shorts, and indie films… not to mention their directors to give a little pre-film chat.

There are many more women who have had profound influences on my life, but I had to mention these three because they helped to remind me why I came back and what I’m capable of accomplishing in this small town.

