2016: Adventure. Explore. Repeat.

by balanceofbliss

I’m hesitant to list out New Years resolutions. Like my religion and faith, they are personal. I’ve publicized ideal changes in the past and the second I can’t hold up to them – whether they are unrealistic or I was too lazy – I lose all credibility (whatever credibility I have).

This year, instead, I think I’d rather reflect on the things I know make me feel whole as a person.  Things I  know bring me joy in no particular order, but are all significant in providing peace, bliss, and balance in my life.  My goal for 2016 is to become a better, more giving, less judgmental, more forgiving, less opinionated person.  It’s not that I’m going to “change” who I am, it’s just that I want to be a more conscious person of me: owning me and being proud of the results.

These are some things that bring me balance and how I plan to incorporate more of them in my life – this year and in all future years to come:

  1. Food.  When I moved back from New York, I gave myself the gift of an education in Nutrition and Dietetics.  Food is about feeding and caring for ourselves and others, having a scientific knowledge about food and health is something I need to take more pride in.  I had a 4.0 GPA and have worked at some of the best hospitals in the state – I need to not let this go.
    1. Incorporate my degree and knowledge into my writing.  Provide recipes with nutritional breakdowns and benefits.
    2. Share the food that I cook more. Teach more, preach less, and volunteer my time.
  2. Family.  Matt and I are newly married and every time I think back to our wedding a huge smile comes over my face.  I want to see his family more and continue spending with my family.
    1. Frame and hang the pictures we have of our families.
    2. We have the family reunion in July and I really want to fly out to Colorado to stay with his sister and her family.
    3. Take my niece and nephew on more adventures and day trips.
    4. Help my mom and dad more.
  3. Adventure and Explore.  This is probably one of the most important ones that I have to commit to.  I say this every year, but it NEEDS to happen.  I love traveling – always have, always will – so now I need to kick it up a notch.
    1. Back to Utah and the mid-west.  North east exploration. Return to the Pacific Northwest?  I’m dying to go to New Mexico…
    2. Europe?
    3. Where else?
  4. Local Appreciation and Networking.  This will be the easiest one to achieve…
    1. Take advantage of the monthly art walks.
    2. Take advantage of monthly networking opportunities to promote Balance of Bliss.
    3. Attend screenings and dinners at the Acme.
    4. Attend more shows in the area, New York, and Philly.
    5. Go to the opera, ballet, and symphony.
  5. Personal.
    1. Write more consistently.
    2. Add running to my pilates work out.  Maybe sign up for a few races?
    3. Take more bubble baths.
    4. Embrace my daily routine and improve upon it.
    5. Become better at my career as a Communications Professional and really make a difference in the field.  Career has always been important to me and while I don’t want it to take over my life, I do want it to be a part of my life that I’m proud of and successful at.  I never want to have a job where I just “go to work day in and day out” – I want to be one of the best, if not the best in the field.

And, that’s a wrap… or, this is the start.

